

Contact: Jackie Reau Game Day Communications (513) 929-4263 jreau@gamedaypr.com

National Association of Sports Commissions Names Host Cities for 2014, 2015

New Board Members Installed at 2012 Symposium

HARTFORD (April 19, 2012) – At the annual symposium of the National Association of Sports Commissions with a record crowd of more than 700 in attendance, several announcements and awards were made to honor industry professionals.

NASC officials announced that it will hold its 2014 Symposium in Oklahoma City, and will return to Milwaukee for its 2015 annual meeting. The sites were unveiled during this week's general session kickoff at the 20th anniversary meeting of the National Association of Sports Commissions. The NASC will travel to Louisville for its 2013 Sports Event Symposium.

"We are thrilled to be going to Oklahoma City in 2014," said Don Schumacher, executive director of the NASC. "And we will be returning to Milwaukee, which was our host in our early days of the organization. These are two exciting and active cities in the sports host business."

Also at this week's General Membership Meeting, the new board members were voted on and installed. Officers include: Chair, Gary Alexander, Nashville Sports Council; Vice Chair/Chair Elect Terry Hasseltine, CSEE, Maryland Office of Sports Marketing; Treasurer, Kevin Smith, CSEE, St. Petersburg/Clearwater Sports Commission; Secretary, Greg Ayers, CSEE, Discover Kalamazoo, and Tara Green, CSEE, American Airlines Center, Immediate Past Chair.

Newly elected board members include: John David, USA BMX; Tammy Dunn, CSEE; Snohomish County Sports Commission; Greg Fante, CSEE, Louisville Sports Commission; Kindra Fry, CSEE, Bryan-College Station CVB; Lou Mengsol, Innovations Consulting; and Nancy Yawn, CSEE, Round Rock CVB.

Board members who are continuing to fulfill existing terms include: Mike Anderson, CSEE, Visit Charlotte; Gary Beck, Killer 'B' Promotions; Jim Dietz, Columbus Indiana Visitors Center; Mike Guswiler, West Michigan Sports Commission; Jennifer Hawkins, CSEE, VisitPittsburgh; Jim Hilb, Associated Premium Corporation; Ed Hruska, CSEE, Rochester Amateur Sports Commission; Mary Lee Malmberg, CSEE, Cedar Rapids Area CVB; Ralph Morton, CSEE, Seattle Sports Commission; and Marc Zimmerman, Central Florida's Polk County Sports Marketing.

Industry honors also were awarded at the symposium. Those winning awards were: Member of the Year Category, under \$100,000, Lake Charles/Southwest Louisiana Convention and Visitors Bureau; \$100,000 to \$300,000, Sarasota County Sports Commission; over \$300,000, Phoenix Regional Sports Commission.

In the category of Outstanding Locally Created Event/Program, \$100,000-\$300,000, Rochester Amateur Sports Commission; over \$300,000 Richmond Sports Backers. Outstanding Web Presence winners, under \$100,000; Columbia (SC) Regional Sports Council; \$100,000-\$300,000, Greater Lansing Sports Authority; over \$300,000, Greater Cleveland Sports Commission.

And in the category of Outstanding Marketing Campaign, under \$100,000, Greater Green Bay Convention & Visitors Bureau; \$100,000-\$300,000, Rhode Island Sports Commission, and over \$300,000, Greater Columbus Sports Commission.

Also at the 20th anniversary Symposium, the latest class from the Certified Sports Event Executive (CSEE) program graduated. The Certified Sports Event Executive Program is a certification program open only to NASC members. Since its inception, the NASC has been dedicated to raising the standards of professionalism in the industry. The NASC Staff and Professional Development Committee assist presenters in preparing sessions and case studies to ensure that the needs and concerns of the sports event industry are addressed.

The most recent graduating class includes: Jay Allen, Chicago Southland Convention & Visitors Bureau; Heath Aucoin, Jackson Convention Complex; Demp Bradford, Greensboro Sports Commission; KP Clements, Central Florida's Polk County Sports Marketing; Tom Coleman, Central Wisconsin/Stevens Point Area Sports Commission; Randy DuTeau, Augusta Sports Council; Eric Engelbarts II, West Michigan Sports Commission; Michelle Fakler, CMP, Discover Kalamazoo; David Gyza, Valley Forge Convention and Visitors Bureau; Jim Hilb, Associated Premium Corporation; Sue Hollenbeck, Oklahoma City Convention & Visitors Bureau; Dallas Howard, Clermont County Ohio Convention and Visitors Bureau.

Also, Ray Hoyt, Tulsa Sports Commission; Troy Killian, Louisville Sports Commission; John Larsen, Rochester Amateur Sports Commission; Jennifer Miles, Amateur Athletic Union of the United States; Monica Paul, Dallas CVB Sports; Scott Powers, Columbia (SC) Regional Sports Council; Jason Puckett, Sarasota County Sports Commission; Holly Shelton, Oklahoma City Convention & Visitors Bureau; Linda Smith, Warren County Convention & Visitors Bureau; Kelly Wells, Shreveport-Bossier Convention and Tourist Bureau and Marc Zimmerman, Central Florida's Polk County Sports Marketing.

###